The Economic History Society of Australia and New Zealand is inviting nominations for the 2023 S. J. Butlin Prize for best Masters or PhD thesis in Australian or New Zealand economic history, awarded in calendar years 2020, 2021 or 2022. The applied definition of ‘economic’ is broad, encompassing business history and labour history, as well as more cross-disciplinary work in fields such as environmental history, urban history, agricultural history, political history.  

‘Economic history’ is broadly defined, extending to business and urban history. If a potential nominee is in doubt as to whether their nomination would be eligible, please contact Lionel Frost.

Further information: